Week 6 – Comm 11007 – Technical Quiz 6 a & b: Punctuation

Technical: Quiz 6 a & b

Week six reading of chapter six on punctuation proved to be very interesting.  I was surprised with what I remembered from previous learning, however after completing the quizzes realised how I had been using (and misusing) commas.

For example, with the correct sentence;

The guard, however, said the cat had runaway.

I would have been quite happy with;

The guard however, said the cat had runaway.

This is the way I speak, and where I would pause in my sentences.  This is something that I will have to be aware of in future journalistic work.

For quiz 6 b, I was quite surprised of what I had already known (except for a few mistakes).  I just need to watch for possessive apostrophes, these can get a little tricky.

Leave a Reply

